X

Sign Up




READARA
The World as It Is: A Memoir of the Obama White House

Overall Rating

NA

Reviews

NA

The World As It Is: A Memoir Of The Obama White House

From one of Obama's closest aides comes a revelatory, behind-the-scenes account of his presidency and how idealism can confront harsh reality and still survive in the tradition of Arthur Schlesinger, Jr.'s A Thousand Days: John F. Kennedy in the White House.

For nearly ten years, Ben Rhodes saw almost everything that happened at the center of the Obama administration first as a speechwriter, then as deputy national security advisor, and finally as a multipurpose aide and close collaborator. He started every morning in the Oval Office with the President's Daily Brief, traveled the world with Obama, and was at the center of some of the most consequential and controversial moments of the presidency and kept much of it to himself. Now he tells the full story of his partnership and, ultimately, friendship with a man who also happened to be a historic president of the United States.

Rhodes was not your normal presidential confidant and this is not your normal White House memoir. Rendered in vivid, novelistic detail from someone who was a writer before he was a staffer, this is a rare look inside the most consequential, tense, and poignant moments of the Obama presidency waiting out the bin Laden raid in the Situation Room, responding to the Arab Spring, reaching a nuclear agreement with Iran, leading secret negotiations with the Cuban government to normalize relations, confronting the resurgence of nationalism and nativism that culminated in the election of Donald Trump.

Rhodes pulls back the curtain on what it was like to be there from the early days of the Obama campaign to the final hours of the presidency. It is a story populated by such characters as Susan Rice, Samantha Power, Hillary Clinton, Bob Gates, and above all Barack Obama, who comes to life on the page in moments of great urgency and disarming intimacy. This is the most vivid portrayal yet of Obama's worldview and presidency, and an essential record of the forces that shaped the last decade.

Random House

Random House

No image

Ben Rhodes

No of Pages
400
Publisher
Random House
ISBN-13
9780525509356
Awards
None
Book Format
Hardcover
Published Date
Jun 12, 2018

Circles

Not in any circle

Book Journey

Reviews [0]

Likes [0]

Recommends [0]

Bookshelf [0]

Table of Contents

No data Found

About Ben Rhodes

No data Found

Other Books by Author

No Books Available

More Beauty, Grooming, & Style Related Books

other Related books
Face Paint: The Story of Makeup
Face Paint: The Story of Makeup
Author :
Lisa Eldridge
Publisher :
Abrams Image
Published Date :
Oct 13, 2015
No of Pages :
240
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Beauty, Grooming, & Style
other Related books
Curly Girl: The Handbook
Curly Girl: The Handbook
Author :
Michele Bender, Lorraine Massey, Deborah Chiel
Publisher :
Workman Publishing Company
Published Date :
Jan 13, 2011
No of Pages :
176
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Beauty, Grooming, & Style
other Related books
A Healthy You: Boost Your Energy, Live Cleaner, and Look and Feel Younger Every Day
A Healthy You: Boost Your Energy, Live Cleaner, and Look and Feel Younger Every Day
Author :
Carol Alt
Publisher :
Dey Street Books
Published Date :
May 12, 2015
No of Pages :
288
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Beauty, Grooming, & Style
other Related books
Gorgeous for Good: A Simple 30-Day Program for Lasting Beauty - Inside and Out
Gorgeous for Good: A Simple 30-Day Program for Lasting  Beauty - Inside and Out
Author :
Sophie Uliano
Publisher :
Hay House, Inc.
Published Date :
Apr 7, 2015
No of Pages :
424
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Beauty, Grooming, & Style
other Related books
Front Roe: How to Be the Leading Lady in Your Own Life
Front Roe: How to Be the Leading Lady in Your Own Life
Author :
Louise Roe
Publisher :
Running Press
Published Date :
Apr 21, 2015
No of Pages :
304
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Beauty, Grooming, & Style
other Related books
How to Get Dressed: A Costume Designer's Secrets for Making Your Clothes Look, Fit, and Feel Amazing
How to Get Dressed: A Costume Designer's Secrets for Making Your Clothes Look, Fit, and Feel Amazing
Author :
Alison Freer
Publisher :
Ten Speed Press
Published Date :
Apr 14, 2015
No of Pages :
256
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Beauty, Grooming, & Style
other Related books
Chanel: Fashion/ Fine Jewellery/ Perfume (Set of 3 Books)
Chanel: Fashion/ Fine Jewellery/ Perfume (Set of 3 Books)
Author :
Francois Baudot
Publisher :
Assouline
Published Date :
Jul 15, 2013
No of Pages :
80
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Beauty, Grooming, & Style
other Related books
The Beauty Detox Solution: Eat Your Way to Radiant Skin, Renewed Energy and the Body You've Always Wanted
The Beauty Detox Solution: Eat Your Way to Radiant Skin, Renewed Energy and the Body You've Always Wanted
Author :
Kimberly Snyder
Publisher :
Harlequin Books
Published Date :
Mar 29, 2011
No of Pages :
272
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Beauty, Grooming, & Style
other Related books
Vogue and The Metropolitan Museum of Art Costume Institute: Parties, Exhibitions, People
Vogue and The Metropolitan Museum of Art Costume Institute: Parties, Exhibitions, People
Author :
Hamish Bowles
Publisher :
Harry N. Abrams
Published Date :
Sep 23, 2014
No of Pages :
272
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Beauty, Grooming, & Style
other Related books
The Beauty Detox Foods: Discover the Top 50 Beauty Foods That Will Transform Your Body and Reveal a More Beautiful You
The Beauty Detox Foods: Discover the Top 50 Beauty Foods That Will Transform Your Body and Reveal a More Beautiful You
Author :
Kimberly Snyder
Publisher :
Harlequin
Published Date :
Mar 26, 2013
No of Pages :
336
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Beauty, Grooming, & Style
other Related books
Bobbi Brown Makeup Manual: For Everyone from Beginner to Pro
Bobbi Brown Makeup Manual: For Everyone from Beginner to Pro
Author :
Bobbi Brown
Publisher :
Grand Central Life & Style
Published Date :
Sep 30, 2011
No of Pages :
232
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Beauty, Grooming, & Style
other Related books
Making Faces
Making Faces
Author :
Kevyn Aucoin
Publisher :
Little, Brown and Company
Published Date :
Sep 2, 1999
No of Pages :
160
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Beauty, Grooming, & Style
other Related books
Eat Pretty: Nutrition for Beauty, Inside and Out
Eat Pretty: Nutrition for Beauty, Inside and Out
Author :
Jolene Hart
Publisher :
Chronicle Books
Published Date :
Feb 25, 2014
No of Pages :
208
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Beauty, Grooming, & Style
other Related books
At Home with Madame Chic: Becoming a Connoisseur of Daily Life
At Home with Madame Chic: Becoming a Connoisseur of Daily Life
Author :
Jennifer L. Scott
Publisher :
Simon & Schuster
Published Date :
Oct 7, 2014
No of Pages :
304
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Beauty, Grooming, & Style
other Related books
Skin Cleanse: The Simple, All-Natural Program for Clear, Calm, Happy Skin
Skin Cleanse: The Simple, All-Natural Program for Clear, Calm, Happy Skin
Author :
Adina Grigore
Publisher :
HarperWave
Published Date :
Feb 17, 2015
No of Pages :
256
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Beauty, Grooming, & Style
other Related books
Organic Body Care Recipes: 175 Homemade Herbal Formulas for Glowing Skin & a Vibrant Self
Organic Body Care Recipes: 175 Homemade Herbal Formulas for Glowing Skin & a Vibrant Self
Author :
Stephanie L. Tourles
Publisher :
Storey Publishing, LLC
Published Date :
May 30, 2007
No of Pages :
384
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Beauty, Grooming, & Style
other Related books
Dressing the Man: Mastering the Art of Permanent Fashion
Dressing the Man: Mastering the Art of Permanent Fashion
Author :
Alan Flusser
Publisher :
HarperCollins
Published Date :
Oct 1, 2002
No of Pages :
320
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Beauty, Grooming, & Style
other Related books
The New Braiding Handbook: 60 Modern Twists on the Classic Hairstyle
The New Braiding Handbook: 60 Modern Twists on the Classic Hairstyle
Author :
Abby Smith
Publisher :
Ulysses Press
Published Date :
Apr 29, 2014
No of Pages :
128
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Beauty, Grooming, & Style
other Related books
Braids, Buns, and Twists!: Step-by-Step Tutorials for 82 Fabulous Hairstyles
Braids, Buns, and Twists!: Step-by-Step Tutorials for 82 Fabulous Hairstyles
Author :
Christina Butcher
Publisher :
Chronicle Books
Published Date :
Nov 19, 2013
No of Pages :
192
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Beauty, Grooming, & Style
other Related books
Love, Tanya
Love, Tanya
Author :
Tanya Burr
Publisher :
Penguin UK
Published Date :
Jun 1, 2015
No of Pages :
304
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Beauty, Grooming, & Style
+

Editorial Reviews

No Editorial Reviews Available

Community Reviews

No Community Reviews Available

Press Releases

No Press Release found

Testimonials

No Data available

Market Place