X

Sign Up




READARA
Open Secrets: A Memoir of Faith and Discovery

Overall Rating

NA

Reviews

NA

Open Secrets: A Memoir Of Faith And Discovery

In the tradition of Garrison Keillor, Open Secrets captures the friendships, rivalries, and rumors of small-town life by chronicling the lives of the citizens of a small Midwestern community through the eyes of a young minister.

Fresh out of divinity school and bursting with enthusiasm, Richard Lischer found himself assigned to a small conservative church in an economically depressed town in southern Illinois. It's an awkward marriage at best--a young man with a Ph.D. in theology, full of ideas and ambitions, determined to improve his parish and bring it into the twenty-first century, and a community that is " as tightly sealed as a jar of home-canned pickles." In Open Secrets, Lischer tells not only his own story but also the story of New Cana and its inhabitants. With charm, openness, and humor, Lischer brings to life the clash of cultures and personalities that marks his pastoral tenure, including his own doubts, as well as those of his parishioners, that a twenty-eight-year-old suburban-raised liberal can deal with the troubled marriages, alcoholism, teen sex, inadequate farm subsidies, and other concerns of the conservative, tightly knit community. But the inhabitants of New Cana--lovable, deeply flawed, imperfect people who stick together--open their arms to him in their own way, and the result is a colorful, poignant comedy of small-town life and all it has to offer.

Harmony

Harmony

No image

Richard Lischer

No of Pages
256
Publisher
Harmony
ISBN-13
9780767907446
Awards
None
Book Format
Paperback
Published Date
Jun 11, 2002

Circles

Not in any circle

Book Journey

Reviews [0]

Likes [0]

Recommends [0]

Bookshelf [0]

Table of Contents

No data Found

About Richard Lischer

No data Found

Other Books by Author

other books by authors
Stations of the Heart: Parting with a Son
Stations of the Heart: Parting with a Son
Author :
Richard Lischer
Publisher :
Vintage
Published Date :
Mar 17, 2015
No of Pages :
272
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy
other books by authors
Reading the Parables: Interpretation: Resources for the Use of Scripture in the Church
Reading the Parables: Interpretation: Resources for the Use of Scripture in the Church
Author :
Richard Lischer
Publisher :
Westminster John Knox Press
Published Date :
Sep 12, 2014
No of Pages :
240
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Clergy
other books by authors
The End of Words: The Language of Reconciliation in a Culture of Violence (The Lyman Beecher Lectures in Preaching)
The End of Words: The Language of Reconciliation in a Culture of Violence (The Lyman Beecher Lectures in Preaching)
Author :
Richard Lischer
Publisher :
Eerdmans
Published Date :
Jan 3, 2008
No of Pages :
192
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy
other books by authors
The Preacher King: Martin Luther King, Jr. and the Word that Moved America
The Preacher King: Martin Luther King, Jr. and the Word that Moved America
Author :
Richard Lischer
Publisher :
Oxford University Press
Published Date :
Feb 6, 1997
No of Pages :
368
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy

More Clergy Related Books

other Related books
The Latin Mass Explained: Everything needed to understand and appreciate the Traditional Latin Mass.
The Latin Mass Explained: Everything needed to understand and appreciate the Traditional Latin Mass.
Author :
George J. Moorman
Publisher :
TAN Books and Publishers, Inc.
Published Date :
Nov 1, 2007
No of Pages :
213
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy
other Related books
The Priest Is Not His Own
The Priest Is Not His Own
Author :
Fulton J. Sheen
Publisher :
Ignatius Press
Published Date :
Oct 1, 2004
No of Pages :
278
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy
other Related books
Straining at the Oars: Case Studies in Pastoral Leadership
Straining at the Oars: Case Studies in Pastoral Leadership
Author :
H. Dana Fearon III, Gordon S. Mikoski
Publisher :
Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Co.
Published Date :
Mar 26, 2013
No of Pages :
138
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy
other Related books
A Change of Pastors ... and How it Affects Change in the Congregation
A Change of Pastors ... and How it Affects Change in the Congregation
Author :
Loren B. Mead
Publisher :
Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Published Date :
Jan 9, 2012
No of Pages :
112
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy
other Related books
Why Priests?: A Failed Tradition
Why Priests?: A Failed Tradition
Author :
Garry Wills
Publisher :
Penguin Books
Published Date :
Jan 28, 2014
No of Pages :
320
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy
other Related books
Asatru Book of Blotar and Rituals: by the Asatru Folk Assembly
Asatru Book of Blotar and Rituals: by the Asatru Folk Assembly
Author :
Stephen A. McNallen, Eoghan Odinsson
Publisher :
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Published Date :
Sep 1, 2009
No of Pages :
192
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy
other Related books
The Prophecies of St. Malachy
The Prophecies of St. Malachy
Author :
Peter Bander
Publisher :
TAN Books
Published Date :
Jul 1, 1993
No of Pages :
96
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy
other Related books
Second in Command
Second in Command
Author :
Dutch Sheets, Chris Jackson
Publisher :
Destiny Image Publishers
Published Date :
Oct 1, 2005
No of Pages :
173
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy
other Related books
The Roots of Endurance: Invincible Perseverance in the Lives of John Newton, Charles Simeon, and William Wilberforce (The Swans Are Not Silent)
The Roots of Endurance: Invincible Perseverance in the Lives of John Newton, Charles Simeon, and William Wilberforce (The Swans Are Not Silent)
Author :
John Piper
Publisher :
Crossway
Published Date :
Aug 18, 2006
No of Pages :
176
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy
other Related books
Method in Ministry: Theological Reflection and Christian Ministry (revised)
Method in Ministry: Theological Reflection and Christian Ministry (revised)
Author :
James D. Whitehead, Evelyn Eaton Whitehead
Publisher :
Sheed & Ward
Published Date :
Sep 1, 1995
No of Pages :
154
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy
other Related books
Christ and the Americas Workbook: And Study Guide
Christ and the Americas Workbook: And Study Guide
Author :
Belinda Terro Mooney
Publisher :
TAN Books
Published Date :
Aug 1, 2004
No of Pages :
192
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy
other Related books
The Rule of Saint Augustine
The Rule of Saint Augustine
Author :
St. Augustine
Publisher :
Doubleday
Published Date :
Feb 21, 1986
No of Pages :
128
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy
other Related books
Book of Gomorrah: An Eleventh-Century Treatise against Clerical Homosexual Practices
Book of Gomorrah: An Eleventh-Century Treatise against Clerical Homosexual Practices
Author :
Peter Damian
Publisher :
Wilfrid Laurier University Press
Published Date :
Oct 22, 1982
No of Pages :
119
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy
other Related books
Feasting on the Word Worship Companion: Liturgies for Year B, Volume 1
Feasting on the Word Worship Companion: Liturgies for Year B, Volume 1
Author :
Peter Damian
Publisher :
Westminster John Knox Press
Published Date :
Sep 12, 2014
No of Pages :
232
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Clergy
other Related books
Feeding & Leading: PRactical Handbook on Administration in Churches and Christian Organizations
Feeding & Leading: PRactical Handbook on Administration in Churches and Christian Organizations
Author :
Kenneth O. Gangel
Publisher :
Baker Books
Published Date :
Jan 1, 2000
No of Pages :
336
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy
other Related books
Jewish Pastoral Care: A Practical Handbook from Traditional & Contemporary Sources
Jewish Pastoral Care: A Practical Handbook from Traditional & Contemporary Sources
Author :
Kenneth O. Gangel
Publisher :
Jewish Lights
Published Date :
Apr 1, 2010
No of Pages :
528
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy
other Related books
Clergy Self-Care: Finding a Balance for Effective Ministry
Clergy Self-Care: Finding a Balance for Effective Ministry
Author :
Roy M. Oswald
Publisher :
Rowman & Littlefield Publishers
Published Date :
Nov 30, -1
No of Pages :
236
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy
other Related books
Wehrmacht Priests: Catholicism and the Nazi War of Annihilation
Wehrmacht Priests: Catholicism and the Nazi War of Annihilation
Author :
Lauren Faulkner Rossi
Publisher :
Harvard University Press
Published Date :
Apr 6, 2015
No of Pages :
352
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Clergy
other Related books
A Brief Catechism For Adults: A Complete Handbook on How to be a Good Catholic
A Brief Catechism For Adults: A Complete Handbook on How to be a Good Catholic
Author :
Rev. Fr. William J. Cogan
Publisher :
TAN Books
Published Date :
Oct 1, 1993
No of Pages :
191
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy
other Related books
Open Secrets: A Memoir of Faith and Discovery
Open Secrets: A Memoir of Faith and Discovery
Author :
Richard Lischer
Publisher :
Harmony
Published Date :
Jun 11, 2002
No of Pages :
256
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Clergy
+

Editorial Reviews

No Editorial Reviews Available

Community Reviews

No Community Reviews Available

Press Releases

No Press Release found

Testimonials

No Data available

Market Place