X

Sign Up




READARA
The Strays: A Novel

Overall Rating

NA

Reviews

NA

The Strays: A Novel

WINNER OF AUSTRALIA'S 2015 STELLA PRIZE

For readers of Atonement, a powerful and haunting story of three sisters and their friend who grow up on the outskirts of their parents' glamorous bohemian lifestyle.

On her first day at a new school, Lily befriends one of the daughters of infamous avant-garde painter Evan Trentham. Lily has never experienced anything like the Trenthams' home, where Evan and his wife have created a wild, makeshift family of like-minded artists, all living and working together to escape the stifling conservatism of 1930's Australia. An only child accustomed to loneliness, Lily soon becomes infatuated with the creative chaos of the Trenthams and aches to fully belong.

Despite the Trenthams' glamorous allure, the artists' real lives are shaped by dire Faustian bargains and spectacular falls from grace. As the girls find themselves drawn closer to the white-hot flame of creativity, emotions and art collide with explosive consequences--and Evan's own daughters may be forced to pay a dangerous price for his choices.

Twelve

Twelve

No image

Emily Bitto

No of Pages
256
Publisher
Twelve
ISBN-13
9781455537723
Awards
None
Book Format
Hardcover
Published Date
Jan 3, 2017

Circles

Not in any circle

Book Journey

Reviews [0]

Likes [0]

Recommends [0]

Bookshelf [0]

Table of Contents

No data Found

About Emily Bitto

No data Found

Other Books by Author

No Books Available

More Australia & Oceania Related Books

other Related books
Max Gate
Max Gate
Author :
Damien Wilkins
Publisher :
Aardvark Bureau
Published Date :
Jul 12, 2016
No of Pages :
272
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Australia & Oceania
other Related books
Tell the Truth, Shame the Devil
Tell the Truth, Shame the Devil
Author :
Melina Marchetta
Publisher :
Mulholland Books
Published Date :
Oct 11, 2016
No of Pages :
416
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Australia & Oceania
other Related books
The Other Side of the World: A Novel
The Other Side of the World: A Novel
Author :
Stephanie Bishop
Publisher :
Atria Books
Published Date :
Sep 20, 2016
No of Pages :
256
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Australia & Oceania
other Related books
Ascendant's Rite (The Moontide Quartet)
Ascendant's Rite (The Moontide Quartet)
Author :
David Hair
Publisher :
Jo Fletcher Books
Published Date :
Oct 4, 2016
No of Pages :
848
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Australia & Oceania
other Related books
The Shadow of What Was Lost (The Licanius Trilogy)
The Shadow of What Was Lost (The Licanius Trilogy)
Author :
James Islington
Publisher :
Orbit
Published Date :
Nov 8, 2016
No of Pages :
704
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Australia & Oceania
other Related books
Shooting Star
Shooting Star
Author :
Peter Temple
Publisher :
Bolinda Audio
Published Date :
May 21, 2012
No of Pages :
254
Book Format :
Audio CD
Category :
Australia & Oceania
other Related books
Kindling Volume III: A Writer's Edit Anthology (Volume 3)
Kindling Volume III: A Writer's Edit Anthology (Volume 3)
Author :
Writer's Edit Press
Publisher :
Writer's Edit Press
Published Date :
Sep 9, 2016
No of Pages :
248
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Australia & Oceania
other Related books
Valiant Gentlemen: A Novel
Valiant Gentlemen: A Novel
Author :
Sabina Murray
Publisher :
Grove Press
Published Date :
Nov 1, 2016
No of Pages :
496
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Australia & Oceania
other Related books
Antony and Cleopatra: A Novel (Masters of Rome)
Antony and Cleopatra: A Novel (Masters of Rome)
Author :
Colleen McCullough
Publisher :
Simon & Schuster
Published Date :
Dec 2, 2008
No of Pages :
567
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Australia & Oceania
other Related books
Violence in Caribbean Literature: Stories of Stones and Blood (After the Empire: The Francophone World and Postcolonial France)
Violence in Caribbean Literature: Stories of Stones and Blood (After the Empire: The Francophone World and Postcolonial France)
Author :
V ronique Maisier
Publisher :
Lexington Books
Published Date :
Dec 11, 2014
No of Pages :
170
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Australia & Oceania
other Related books
Unwrapping His Convenient Fiancee (Harlequin Presents (Larger Print))
Unwrapping His Convenient Fiancee (Harlequin Presents (Larger Print))
Author :
Melanie Milburne
Publisher :
Harlequin Presents LP
Published Date :
Oct 18, 2016
No of Pages :
256
Book Format :
Mass Market Paperback
Category :
Australia & Oceania
other Related books
Coloniality of Diasporas: Rethinking Intra-Colonial Migrations in a Pan-Caribbean Context (New Caribbean Studies)
Coloniality of Diasporas: Rethinking Intra-Colonial Migrations in a Pan-Caribbean Context (New Caribbean Studies)
Author :
Yolanda Mart nez-San Miguel
Publisher :
Palgrave Macmillan
Published Date :
Dec 18, 2015
No of Pages :
277
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Australia & Oceania
other Related books
Fishing for Stars
Fishing for Stars
Author :
Bryce Courtenay
Publisher :
Bolinda Audio
Published Date :
Mar 19, 2012
No of Pages :
156
Book Format :
Audio CD
Category :
Australia & Oceania
other Related books
Wild Pork and Watercress
Wild Pork and Watercress
Author :
Barry Crump
Publisher :
Penguin Random House New Zealand Limited
Published Date :
Dec 1, 2016
No of Pages :
240
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Australia & Oceania
other Related books
Archangel's Kiss (Guild Hunter, Book 2)
Archangel's Kiss (Guild Hunter, Book 2)
Author :
Nalini Singh
Publisher :
Berkley
Published Date :
Feb 2, 2010
No of Pages :
352
Book Format :
Mass Market Paperback
Category :
Australia & Oceania
other Related books
How to Grow an Addict: A Novel
How to Grow an Addict: A Novel
Author :
J.A. Wright
Publisher :
She Writes Press
Published Date :
Nov 3, 2015
No of Pages :
300
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Australia & Oceania
other Related books
Australian Gothic: An Anthology of Australian Supernatural Fiction
Australian Gothic: An Anthology of Australian Supernatural Fiction
Author :
James Doig
Publisher :
Borgo Press
Published Date :
Mar 5, 2013
No of Pages :
316
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Australia & Oceania
other Related books
Another Life: Fully Annotated
Another Life: Fully Annotated
Author :
Derek Walcott, Edward Baugh, Colbert I. Nepaulsingh
Publisher :
Lynne Rienner Pub
Published Date :
Nov 30, -1
No of Pages :
320
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Australia & Oceania
other Related books
The Collected Poems of Katherine Mansfield
The Collected Poems of Katherine Mansfield
Author :
Tiphanie Yanique
Publisher :
Edinburgh University Press
Published Date :
Nov 1, 2016
No of Pages :
128
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Australia & Oceania
other Related books
Stranded with Her Rescuer (Harlequin Romance Large Print)
Stranded with Her Rescuer (Harlequin Romance Large Print)
Author :
Nikki Logan
Publisher :
Harlequin
Published Date :
Jun 7, 2016
No of Pages :
256
Book Format :
Mass Market Paperback
Category :
Australia & Oceania
+

Editorial Reviews

No Editorial Reviews Available

Community Reviews

No Community Reviews Available

Press Releases

No Press Release found

Testimonials

No Data available

Market Place