X

Sign Up




READARA
The Road to Home: My Life and Times

Overall Rating

NA

Reviews

NA

The Road To Home: My Life And Times

In this humorous, learned, and moving memoir, Vartan Gregorian recounts his journey from an impoverished childhood as a Christian Armenian in Muslim Tabriz to cultured citizen of the world.
Gregorian's odyssey begins in an obscure poor quarter of a provincial city (thought by some to be the location of the Garden of Eden). Childhood centered on his brilliant, beloved, illiterate grandmother who taught him so much, the beauty of Church, school, American movies, and the larger world he read about in his borrowed books. From there, he continued on to a Beirut lyc e, Stanford University, and the presidencies of the New York Public Library, Brown University, and Carnegie Corporation.
Like Jimmy Carter in An Hour Before Daylight, and in the tradition of Nabokov, Jill Ker Conway, and V. S. Naipaul, he tells us that education is an openness to everything, and describes his public and private life as one education after another. This is a love story about life.

Simon & Schuster

Simon & Schuster

No image

Vartan Gregorian

No of Pages
368
Publisher
Simon & Schuster
ISBN-13
9780743255653
Awards
None
Book Format
Paperback
Published Date
May 7, 2004

Circles

Not in any circle

Book Journey

Reviews [0]

Likes [0]

Recommends [0]

Bookshelf [0]

Table of Contents

No data Found

About Vartan Gregorian

No data Found

Other Books by Author

other books by authors
Islam: A Mosaic, Not a Monolith
Islam: A Mosaic, Not a Monolith
Author :
Vartan Gregorian
Publisher :
Brookings Institution Press
Published Date :
May 29, 2003
No of Pages :
144
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Educators

More Educators Related Books

other Related books
From Failure to Promise: - "360 Degrees" -
From Failure to Promise: -
Author :
Dr. C. Moorer
Publisher :
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Published Date :
Aug 1, 2014
No of Pages :
170
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Educators
other Related books
Three Cups of Tea: One Man's Mission to Promote Peace - One School at a Time
Three Cups of Tea: One Man's Mission to Promote Peace - One School at a Time
Author :
Greg Mortenson, David Oliver Relin
Publisher :
Penguin Books
Published Date :
Jan 30, 2007
No of Pages :
349
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Educators
other Related books
The Man Who Knew Infinity: A Life of the Genius Ramanujan
The Man Who Knew Infinity: A Life of the Genius Ramanujan
Author :
Robert Kanigel
Publisher :
Washington Square Press
Published Date :
Nov 30, -1
No of Pages :
464
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Educators
other Related books
Educating Esm : Diary of a Teacher's First Year, Expanded Edition
Educating Esm : Diary of a Teacher's First Year, Expanded Edition
Author :
Esm Raji Codell
Publisher :
Algonquin Books
Published Date :
Sep 1, 2009
No of Pages :
262
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Educators
other Related books
Initiation
Initiation
Author :
Elisabeth Haich
Publisher :
Aurora Pr
Published Date :
Jul 28, 2000
No of Pages :
376
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Educators
other Related books
Work Hard. Be Nice.: How Two Inspired Teachers Created the Most Promising Schools in America
Work Hard. Be Nice.: How Two Inspired Teachers Created the Most Promising Schools in America
Author :
Jay Mathews
Publisher :
Algonquin Books
Published Date :
Jan 20, 2009
No of Pages :
329
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Educators
other Related books
The Electric Edge of Academe: The Saga of Lucien L. Nunn and Deep Springs College
The Electric Edge of Academe: The Saga of Lucien L. Nunn and Deep Springs College
Author :
L. Jackson Newell
Publisher :
University of Utah Press
Published Date :
Apr 30, 2015
No of Pages :
460
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Educators
other Related books
32 Third Graders and One Class Bunny: Life Lessons from Teaching
32 Third Graders and One Class Bunny: Life Lessons from Teaching
Author :
Phillip Done
Publisher :
Touchstone
Published Date :
Sep 1, 2009
No of Pages :
304
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Educators
other Related books
Maria Montessori: Her Life and Work
Maria Montessori: Her Life and Work
Author :
E. M. Standing
Publisher :
Plume
Published Date :
Aug 1, 1998
No of Pages :
384
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Educators
other Related books
Holding Fast to Dreams: Empowering Youth from the Civil Rights Crusade to STEM Achievement
Holding Fast to Dreams: Empowering Youth from the Civil Rights Crusade to STEM Achievement
Author :
Freeman A. Hrabowski III
Publisher :
Beacon Press
Published Date :
May 5, 2015
No of Pages :
176
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Educators
other Related books
Maria Montessori: A Biography (Radcliffe Biography Series)
Maria Montessori: A Biography (Radcliffe Biography Series)
Author :
Rita Kramer
Publisher :
Da Capo Press
Published Date :
Jan 22, 1988
No of Pages :
418
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Educators
other Related books
The Man Who Loved Only Numbers: The Story of Paul Erdos and the Search for Mathematical Truth
The Man Who Loved Only Numbers: The Story of Paul Erdos and the Search for Mathematical Truth
Author :
Paul Hoffman
Publisher :
Hachette Books
Published Date :
Nov 30, -1
No of Pages :
336
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Educators
other Related books
The Death Class: A True Story About Life
The Death Class: A True Story About Life
Author :
Erika Hayasaki
Publisher :
Simon & Schuster
Published Date :
Dec 30, 2014
No of Pages :
288
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Educators
other Related books
Learning to Fall: The Blessings of an Imperfect Life
Learning to Fall: The Blessings of an Imperfect Life
Author :
Philip Simmons
Publisher :
Bantam
Published Date :
Apr 29, 2003
No of Pages :
176
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Educators
other Related books
My Freshman Year: What a Professor Learned by Becoming a Student
My Freshman Year: What a Professor Learned by Becoming a Student
Author :
Rebekah Nathan
Publisher :
Penguin Books
Published Date :
Jul 25, 2006
No of Pages :
186
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Educators
other Related books
Front of the Class: How Tourette Syndrome Made Me the Teacher I Never Had
Front of the Class: How Tourette Syndrome Made Me the Teacher I Never Had
Author :
Brad Cohen, Lisa Wysocky
Publisher :
St. Martin's Griffin
Published Date :
Nov 25, 2008
No of Pages :
272
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Educators
other Related books
Writing Places: The Life Journey of a Writer and Teacher
Writing Places: The Life Journey of a Writer and Teacher
Author :
William Zinsser
Publisher :
Harper Perennial
Published Date :
Jul 27, 2010
No of Pages :
208
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Educators
other Related books
The Headmaster: Frank L. Boyden of Deerfield
The Headmaster: Frank L. Boyden of Deerfield
Author :
John McPhee
Publisher :
Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Published Date :
Sep 1, 1992
No of Pages :
148
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Educators
other Related books
World Peace and Other 4th-Grade Achievements
World Peace and Other 4th-Grade Achievements
Author :
John Hunter
Publisher :
Eamon Dolan/Mariner Books
Published Date :
Aug 5, 2014
No of Pages :
272
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Educators
other Related books
Square Peg: My Story and What It Means for Raising Innovators, Visionaries, and Out-of-the-Box Thinkers
Square Peg: My Story and What It Means for Raising Innovators, Visionaries, and Out-of-the-Box Thinkers
Author :
Todd Rose
Publisher :
Hachette Books
Published Date :
Mar 5, 2013
No of Pages :
256
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Educators
+

Editorial Reviews

No Editorial Reviews Available

Community Reviews

No Community Reviews Available

Press Releases

No Press Release found

Testimonials

No Data available

Market Place