X

Sign Up




READARA
The Perfect Mile: Three Athletes, One Goal, and Less Than Four Minutes to Achieve It

Overall Rating

NA

Reviews

NA

The Perfect Mile: Three Athletes, One Goal, And Less Than Four Minutes To Achieve It

There was a time when running the mile in four minutes was believed to be beyond the limits of human foot speed, and in all of sport it was the elusive holy grail. In 1952, after suffering defeat at the Helsinki Olympics, three world-class runners each set out to break this barrier. Roger Bannister was a young English medical student who epitomized the ideal of the amateur - still driven not just by winning but by the nobility of the pursuit. John Landy was the privileged son of a genteel Australian family, who as a boy preferred butterfly collecting to running but who trained relentlessly in an almost spiritual attempt to shape his body to this singular task. Then there was Wes Santee, the swaggering American, a Kansas farm boy and natural athlete who believed he was just plain better than everybody else.

Spanning three continents and defying the odds, their collective quest captivated the world and stole headlines from the Korean War, the atomic race, and such legendary figures as Edmund Hillary, Willie Mays, Native Dancer, and Ben Hogan. In the tradition of Seabiscuit and Chariots of Fire, Neal Bascomb delivers a breathtaking story of unlikely heroes and leaves us with a lasting portrait of the twilight years of the golden age of sport.

No Image

Mariner Books

No image

Neal Bascomb

No of Pages
344
Publisher
Mariner Books
ISBN-13
9780618562091
Awards
None
Book Format
Paperback
Published Date
Apr 6, 2005

Circles

Not in any circle

Book Journey

Reviews [0]

Likes [0]

Recommends [0]

Bookshelf [0]

Table of Contents

No data Found

About Neal Bascomb

No data Found

Other Books by Author

other books by authors
The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World's Most Notorious Nazi
The Nazi Hunters: How a Team of Spies and Survivors Captured the World's Most Notorious Nazi
Author :
Neal Bascomb
Publisher :
Arthur A. Levine Books
Published Date :
Aug 27, 2013
No of Pages :
256
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Other Team Sports
other books by authors
Hunting Eichmann: How a Band of Survivors and a Young Spy Agency Chased Down the World's Most Notorious Nazi
Hunting Eichmann: How a Band of Survivors and a Young Spy Agency Chased Down the World's Most Notorious Nazi
Author :
Neal Bascomb
Publisher :
Mariner Books
Published Date :
Apr 20, 2010
No of Pages :
416
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
other books by authors
Sabotage: The Mission to Destroy Hitler's Atomic Bomb: Young Adult Edition
Sabotage: The Mission to Destroy Hitler's Atomic Bomb: Young Adult Edition
Author :
Neal Bascomb
Publisher :
Arthur a Levine
Published Date :
May 31, 2016
No of Pages :
256
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Other Team Sports
other books by authors
The New Cool: A Visionary Teacher, His FIRST Robotics Team, and the Ultimate Battle of Smarts
The New Cool: A Visionary Teacher, His FIRST Robotics Team, and the Ultimate Battle of Smarts
Author :
Neal Bascomb
Publisher :
Broadway Books
Published Date :
Mar 6, 2012
No of Pages :
352
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
other books by authors
Domestic Surveillance (Current Controversies)
Domestic Surveillance (Current Controversies)
Author :
Neal Bascomb
Publisher :
Greenhaven Press
Published Date :
Dec 3, 2015
No of Pages :
224
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Other Team Sports

More Other Team Sports Related Books

other Related books
The Cricket in Times Square (Chester Cricket and His Friends)
The Cricket in Times Square (Chester Cricket and His Friends)
Author :
George Selden
Publisher :
Square Fish
Published Date :
Apr 1, 2008
No of Pages :
144
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
other Related books
Jake Jennings: Lacrosse Goalie
Jake Jennings: Lacrosse Goalie
Author :
Lisa Butler
Publisher :
The Payne Press
Published Date :
Nov 1, 2012
No of Pages :
145
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
other Related books
Runner's World Training Journal: A Daily Dose of Motivation, Training Tips & Running Wisdom for Every Kind of Runner--From Fitness Runners to Competitive Racers
Runner's World Training Journal: A Daily Dose of Motivation, Training Tips & Running Wisdom for Every Kind of Runner--From Fitness Runners to Competitive Racers
Author :
The Editors of Runner's World
Publisher :
Rodale Books
Published Date :
May 8, 2012
No of Pages :
192
Book Format :
Spiral-bound
Category :
Other Team Sports
other Related books
Running with the Buffaloes: A Season Inside With Mark Wetmore, Adam Goucher, And The University Of Colorado Men's Cross Country Team
Running with the Buffaloes: A Season Inside With Mark Wetmore, Adam Goucher, And The University Of Colorado Men's Cross Country Team
Author :
Chris Lear
Publisher :
Lyons Press
Published Date :
Apr 1, 2011
No of Pages :
288
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
other Related books
Lacrosse For Dummies
Lacrosse For Dummies
Author :
James Hinkson, Joe Lombardi
Publisher :
Wiley Publishing
Published Date :
Mar 15, 2010
No of Pages :
360
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
other Related books
Half-Marathon: A Complete Guide for Women
Half-Marathon: A Complete Guide for Women
Author :
Jeff Galloway, Barbara Galloway
Publisher :
Meyer & Meyer Fachverlag und Buchhandel GmbH
Published Date :
Oct 15, 2012
No of Pages :
200
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
other Related books
The Perfect Mile: Three Athletes, One Goal, and Less Than Four Minutes to Achieve It
The Perfect Mile: Three Athletes, One Goal, and Less Than Four Minutes to Achieve It
Author :
Neal Bascomb
Publisher :
Mariner Books
Published Date :
Apr 6, 2005
No of Pages :
344
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
other Related books
Be Iron Fit: Time-Efficient Training Secrets For Ultimate Fitness
Be Iron Fit: Time-Efficient Training Secrets For Ultimate Fitness
Author :
Don Fink
Publisher :
Lyons Press
Published Date :
Mar 16, 2010
No of Pages :
304
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
other Related books
Volleyball Drill Book, The
Volleyball Drill Book, The
Author :
American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA)
Publisher :
Human Kinetics
Published Date :
Jun 15, 2012
No of Pages :
256
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
other Related books
Lore of Running, 4th Edition
Lore of Running, 4th Edition
Author :
Timothy Noakes
Publisher :
Human Kinetics
Published Date :
Dec 3, 2002
No of Pages :
944
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
other Related books
Run Faster from the 5K to the Marathon: How to Be Your Own Best Coach
Run Faster from the 5K to the Marathon: How to Be Your Own Best Coach
Author :
Brad Hudson, Matt Fitzgerald
Publisher :
Three Rivers Press
Published Date :
Jul 29, 2008
No of Pages :
288
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
other Related books
The Price of Silence: The Duke Lacrosse Scandal, the Power of the Elite, and the Corruption of Our Great Universities
The Price of Silence: The Duke Lacrosse Scandal, the Power of the Elite, and the Corruption of Our Great Universities
Author :
William D. Cohan
Publisher :
Scribner
Published Date :
Apr 14, 2015
No of Pages :
688
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
other Related books
Flamethrowers - Guardians of the game: A lacrosse story
Flamethrowers - Guardians of the game: A lacrosse story
Author :
J. Alan Childs
Publisher :
CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Published Date :
Jan 23, 2011
No of Pages :
238
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
other Related books
Legacy
Legacy
Author :
James Kerr
Publisher :
Little, Brown Book Group
Published Date :
Nov 1, 2015
No of Pages :
224
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
other Related books
Volleyball: Steps to Success
Volleyball: Steps to Success
Author :
Bonnie Kenny, Cindy Gregory
Publisher :
Human Kinetics
Published Date :
Aug 11, 2006
No of Pages :
192
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
other Related books
Swim, Bike, Run, Eat: The Complete Guide to Fueling Your Triathlon
Swim, Bike, Run, Eat: The Complete Guide to Fueling Your Triathlon
Author :
Tom Holland, Amy Goodson
Publisher :
Fair Winds Press
Published Date :
Aug 1, 2014
No of Pages :
192
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
other Related books
Galloway's Book on Running
Galloway's Book on Running
Author :
Jeff Galloway
Publisher :
Shelter Publications
Published Date :
Feb 9, 2002
No of Pages :
298
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
other Related books
Training Young Distance Runners-3rd Edition
Training Young Distance Runners-3rd Edition
Author :
Larry Greene, Russ Pate
Publisher :
Human Kinetics
Published Date :
Dec 30, 2014
No of Pages :
256
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
other Related books
Complete Book of Throws
Complete Book of Throws
Author :
Jay Silvester
Publisher :
Human Kinetics
Published Date :
Feb 13, 2003
No of Pages :
176
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
other Related books
Coaching Cross Country Successfully
Coaching Cross Country Successfully
Author :
Pat Tyson, Doug Binder
Publisher :
Human Kinetics
Published Date :
Sep 10, 2013
No of Pages :
168
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Other Team Sports
+

Editorial Reviews

No Editorial Reviews Available

Community Reviews

No Community Reviews Available

Press Releases

No Press Release found

Testimonials

No Data available

Market Place

ddddddddddd