X

Sign Up




READARA
24 Days: How Two Wall Street Journal Reporters Uncovered the Lies that Destroyed Faith in Corporate America

Overall Rating

NA

Reviews

NA

24 Days: How Two Wall Street Journal Reporters Uncovered The Lies That Destroyed Faith In Corporate America

This is the story of Rebecca Smith and John R. Emshwiller, the two reporters who led the Wall Street Journal's reporting on Enron and uncovered the unorthodox partnerships at the heart of the scandal through skill, luck, and relentless determination.

It all started in August 2001when Emshwiller was assigned to write a supposedly simple article on the unexpected resignation of Enron CEO Jeff Skilling. During his research, Emshwiller uncovered a buried reference to an off-balance-sheet partnership called LJM. Little did he know, this was the start of a fast and furious ride through the remarkable downfall of a once highly-prized company.

Written in an intense, fast paced narrative style, 24 Days tells the gripping story of the colossal collapse of what would become the world's most notorious corporation. The reader follows along as Smith and Emshwiller continue to uncover new partnerships and self-dealing among the highest levels of Enron's management. As they publish articles detailing their findings in the Journal, Wall Street and individual investors have a crisis of confidence and start selling Enron stock at unprecedented levels of volume. In the end - 24 short days later - Enron had completely collapsed, erasing 16 years of growth and losing $19 billion in market value while watching the stock drop from $33.84 to $8.41. Not only was the company destroyed, but investors and retired employees were completely wiped out-all the while Enron executives were collecting millions of dollars.

Climaxing with this 24-day period, this book shows the reporter's-eye view of a David-and-Goliath battle between journalists and a giant corporation. Each day a new story uncovered another fact; each day the company issued denials. And when the investigative stories reached critical mass and momentum, the stock market cast its final vote of no confidence. In the tradition of Indecent Exposure and Barbarians at the Gate, two other gripping narratives that began as a series of Wall Street Journal stories and ended up as books that defined an era, 24 Days brings the importance of great investigative journalism to life.

HarperBusiness

HarperBusiness

No image

Rebecca Smith

No image

John R. Emshwiller

No of Pages
432
Publisher
HarperBusiness
ISBN-13
9780060520748
Awards
None
Book Format
Paperback
Published Date
Oct 12, 2004

Circles

Not in any circle

Book Journey

Reviews [0]

Likes [0]

Recommends [0]

Bookshelf [0]

Table of Contents

No data Found

About Rebecca Smith

No data Found

About John R. Emshwiller

No data Found

Other Books by Author

No Books Available

More Energy & Mining Related Books

other Related books
Regulating Public Utility Performance: The Law of Market Structure, Pricing and Jurisdiction
Regulating Public Utility Performance: The Law of Market Structure, Pricing and Jurisdiction
Author :
Scott Hempling
Publisher :
American Bar Association
Published Date :
Feb 16, 2015
No of Pages :
500
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Energy & Mining
other Related books
Power System Economics: Designing Markets for Electricity
Power System Economics: Designing Markets for Electricity
Author :
Steven Stoft
Publisher :
Wiley-IEEE Press
Published Date :
May 28, 2002
No of Pages :
496
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Energy & Mining
other Related books
Energy for Future Presidents: The Science Behind the Headlines
Energy for Future Presidents: The Science Behind the Headlines
Author :
Richard A. Muller
Publisher :
W. W. Norton & Company
Published Date :
Aug 6, 2012
No of Pages :
368
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Energy & Mining
other Related books
Radiation Effects in Advanced Semiconductor Materials and Devices
Radiation Effects in Advanced Semiconductor Materials and Devices
Author :
C. Claeys, Eddy Simoen
Publisher :
Springer
Published Date :
Oct 3, 2002
No of Pages :
404
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Energy & Mining
other Related books
Understanding Today's Natural Gas Business
Understanding Today's Natural Gas Business
Author :
Bob Shively, John Ferrare
Publisher :
Self
Published Date :
Jun 1, 2011
No of Pages :
148
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Energy & Mining
other Related books
The Oil and the Glory: The Pursuit of Empire and Fortune on the Caspian Sea
The Oil and the Glory: The Pursuit of Empire and Fortune on the Caspian Sea
Author :
Steve LeVine
Publisher :
Random House
Published Date :
Oct 23, 2007
No of Pages :
496
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Energy & Mining
other Related books
Fossil Fuels Improve the Planet
Fossil Fuels Improve the Planet
Author :
Alex J. Epstein
Publisher :
Center for Industrial Progress
Published Date :
Feb 22, 2013
No of Pages :
94
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Energy & Mining
other Related books
The Secret World of Oil
The Secret World of Oil
Author :
Ken Silverstein
Publisher :
Verso
Published Date :
May 5, 2015
No of Pages :
288
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Energy & Mining
other Related books
Black Tide: The Devastating Impact of the Gulf Oil Spill
Black Tide: The Devastating Impact of the Gulf Oil Spill
Author :
Antonia Juhasz
Publisher :
John Wiley and Sons
Published Date :
Apr 1, 2011
No of Pages :
384
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Energy & Mining
other Related books
Fundamentals of Trading Energy Futures and Options
Fundamentals of Trading Energy Futures and Options
Author :
Steven Errera, Stewart L. Brown
Publisher :
Pennwell Pub
Published Date :
Feb 1, 2002
No of Pages :
247
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Energy & Mining
other Related books
Lithium-Ion Batteries Hazard and Use Assessment (SpringerBriefs in Fire)
Lithium-Ion Batteries Hazard and Use Assessment (SpringerBriefs in Fire)
Author :
Celina Mikolajczak, Michael Kahn, Kevin White, Richard Thomas Long
Publisher :
Springer
Published Date :
Mar 24, 2012
No of Pages :
100
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Energy & Mining
other Related books
Submarine Power Cables: Design, Installation, Repair, Environmental Aspects (Power Systems)
Submarine Power Cables: Design, Installation, Repair, Environmental Aspects (Power Systems)
Author :
Thomas Worzyk
Publisher :
Springer
Published Date :
Aug 24, 2009
No of Pages :
296
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Energy & Mining
other Related books
Risk Analysis for Prevention of Hazardous Situations in Petroleum and Natural Gas Engineering (Advances in Environmental Engineering and Green Technologies)
Risk Analysis for Prevention of Hazardous Situations in Petroleum and Natural Gas Engineering (Advances in Environmental Engineering and Green Technologies)
Author :
Davorin Matanovic
Publisher :
IGI Global
Published Date :
Nov 30, 2013
No of Pages :
433
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Energy & Mining
other Related books
Handbook of Sustainable Apparel Production
Handbook of Sustainable Apparel Production
Author :
Mr. John R Childers, Mr Joe W Judd
Publisher :
CRC Press
Published Date :
Apr 28, 2015
No of Pages :
556
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Energy & Mining
other Related books
Sustainable Investing and Environmental Markets: Opportunities in a New Asset Class
Sustainable Investing and Environmental Markets: Opportunities in a New Asset Class
Author :
Richard Sandor, Murali Kanakasabai, Rafael Marques, Nathan Clark
Publisher :
World Scientific Publishing Company
Published Date :
Dec 2, 2014
No of Pages :
400
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Energy & Mining
other Related books
Dynamic Governance of Energy Technology Change: Socio-technical transitions towards sustainability (Sustainability and Innovation)
Dynamic Governance of Energy Technology Change: Socio-technical transitions towards sustainability (Sustainability and Innovation)
Author :
Brooke C. Stoddard
Publisher :
Springer
Published Date :
Dec 27, 2013
No of Pages :
325
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Energy & Mining
other Related books
Oil on the Brain: Petroleum's Long, Strange Trip to Your Tank
Oil on the Brain: Petroleum's Long, Strange Trip to Your Tank
Author :
Lisa Margonelli
Publisher :
Broadway Books
Published Date :
Feb 12, 2008
No of Pages :
352
Book Format :
Paperback
Category :
Energy & Mining
other Related books
Gazprom: An Energy Giant and its Challenges in Europe
Gazprom: An Energy Giant and its Challenges in Europe
Author :
Chris Faulkner
Publisher :
Palgrave Macmillan
Published Date :
Nov 26, 2014
No of Pages :
320
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Energy & Mining
other Related books
Beyond GDP: National Accounting in the Age of Resource Depletion (Lecture Notes in Energy)
Beyond GDP: National Accounting in the Age of Resource Depletion (Lecture Notes in Energy)
Author :
Matthew Kuperus Heun, Michael Carbajales-Dale, Becky Roselius Haney
Publisher :
Springer
Published Date :
Jun 14, 2015
No of Pages :
201
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Energy & Mining
other Related books
Oil: Money, Politics, and Power in the 21st Century
Oil: Money, Politics, and Power in the 21st Century
Author :
Tom Bower
Publisher :
Grand Central Publishing
Published Date :
Jun 3, 2010
No of Pages :
516
Book Format :
Hardcover
Category :
Energy & Mining
+

Editorial Reviews

No Editorial Reviews Available

Community Reviews

No Community Reviews Available

Press Releases

No Press Release found

Testimonials

No Data available

Market Place

ddddddddddd